Tyler Bruno's Blog

Human Archetypes

When I went off to college, it was the first time I was a small fish in a big ocean. I always felt dumb or that I didn't belong. It really took a toll on me, mentally, physically, and emotionally. In every class, I felt as if I couldn't keep up with my peers or that nobody "understood me". It took a while, but through reflection and many conversations with mentors, it all made sense: humans have archetypes.

I think about it like a video game. When you get to make your character, you can choose different classes. Or, as you upgrade in the skill tree, you put your in-game currency into various attributes. Humans are the same way. Some have extra tokens in their creativity attribute while others have more in their problem-solving one. That's the beauty, we are all uniquely customized.

When I finally realized that this was the case, I felt comforted. Others may be able to blow through a math problem set, but may not be able to public speak or communicate well with others. Growing up, it felt like intelligence or smarts were everything, but it's not at all true. So many soft-skills matter too, like can you effectively lead a team? Can you get on a stage and story tell? Can you critically think in the real world?

These are things that not everybody has, but are just as valuable as being able to blow through a math or coding problem. That's what made all the difference to me: I have things that others don't have, which are just as important. I have a unique archetype just like everybody does around me.

Every day that passes, you get a better sense of your personal archetype and how you can harness it. The skill tree of human archetypes is seemingly infinite, and there's no way to quantify it. However, you can slowly, but surely, understand what you're distinctive strengths and weakness are, and most importantly, embrace them.

Recognizing your own archetype isn't just about acknowledging what you're good at—it's also about understanding where you can improve and how you complement others. We all bring something unique to the table, and just like a team in a game, the key is to combine our strengths to overcome challenges that we all face. Sometimes, stepping back and viewing the larger "game board" helps you identify where your skills will be most effective, much like choosing the right character for a mission in a game.

As you navigate your path, consider how your unique archetype can impact others positively, forging paths not just for yourself but for those who journey with you.