Tyler Bruno's Blog

Just ask questions

In seventh grade, my math teacher would refer to me as the "question kid". In the moment, I was made fun of here and there by friends, but it's a philosophy that I credit all of my tiny bit of success to so far. My whole thing was I instinctively asked so many questions to him, whether it was about the math we were working on or life in general. From that young of an age, around ~12 years old, I loved to ask questions and it never stopped.

Questions have always been a way for me to satisfy my intellectual curiosity. My favorite question is "why?" which often leads me down rabbit holes in my classes and my own learning. I always want to know the why behind something, and unfortunately it's not always obvious or available. By asking tons of questions, I've learned so much more than I would've otherwise.

This trend continued through high school, now in college, and I know it will continue beyond throughout my entire life. It's so much fun to learn, have stimulating conversations with others, go deeper into thinking, challenge my assumptions, and uncover new perspectives. In reality, questions are the bedrock foundation for everything.

Another application of questions for me is "closed mouths don't get fed". The value of speaking up and asking for something once you've done the work to deserve it is extremely powerful. The worst that happens is you receive a no, but at least you tried. The feeling of regret and lingering "what ifs" are worse than any rejection. Just ask.

The greatest things to happen to me are a result of asking for something even when I expected to hear the answer no. People are generally willing to help you much more than you'd expect. People are innately helpful and generous, I will always believe that.

The greatest thinkers, from Socrates to Einstein, use questions as the tool in their quest for knowledge and innovation. Asking questions is a habit that can continuously provide growth and opportunities. Closed mouths never get fed. Questions never hurt, they only have upside. So, ask questions. Tons of them.